LibGuides: Music: Research Guide

Welcome

This research guide highlights resources related to Music available through the John Brown University Library.

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) This link opens in a new window
Scores and recordings of music in the public domain.
Musical Theater Songs This link opens in a new window
Database of songs from 150 years of musical theater repertoire, searchable according to parameters such as character age, vocal range, musical genre, composer, tempo, etc.

JBU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the physical holdings of the JBU library, including books, DVDs, and games.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Thousands of popular and scholarly ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of ebook titles covering all major areas of study.
EBSCO Discovery Service (Quick Search) This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple subject databases and ebooks. Many full-text articles and books available.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Find books and articles from the JBU Library and libraries worldwide.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
1000+ reference books in all disciplines.

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians since 1990
ISBN: 9780028657998
An A-Z biographical reference that focuses on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and classical. Features include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, and other information. Also features appendix essays on various topics including the music industry, rap, and grunge.