LibGuides: Bible &amp; Theology: Research Guide

Welcome

This research guide highlights resources related to Bible and Theology available through the John Brown University Library.

More focused guides are available for the major divisions of the Christian Bible:

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Premier database of articles, reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The complete back runs of nearly 400 journal titles in 28 disciplines.

JBU Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the physical holdings of the JBU library, including books, DVDs, and games.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Thousands of popular and scholarly ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Thousands of ebook titles covering all major areas of study.
EBSCO Discovery Service (Quick Search) This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple subject databases and ebooks. Many full-text articles and books available.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Find books and articles from the JBU Library and libraries worldwide.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
1000+ reference books in all disciplines.

IVP Bible Dictionary Series
Eight-volume reference series covering the major literary divisions of the Old and New Testaments, via Credo Reference.
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Scot McKnight (Editor); Lynn H. Cohick (Associate Editor); Nijay K. Gupta (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9780830849369
Publication Date: 2023

Bible Gateway
Searchable online Bible tool hosting more than 200 versions of the Bible in over 70 languages.
Bible Study Tools
Full Bible text in multiple translations and study tools. TIP: Turn on Strong's Numbers in the New American Standard translation to access integrated concordance and Hebrew/Greek lexicons.
NET Bible
New English Translation Bible with extensive textual and translation notes.