Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BBL 3443: Pauline Epistles (Romans)

Databases for Peer Reviewed Journal Articles in Biblical Studies

Featured New Testament Reference eBooks

The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters
Dictionary of New Testament Background
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments

Commentary Sets at the JBU Library

Commentaries – scholarly books that go through a book of the Bible chapter by chapter and verse by verse offering explanations of the language, culture, and meaning of each passage – can be found at several locations in the JBU Library. This list highlights some of the most popular commentaries in our holdings. If you need help locating a commentary for your project, please ask a librarian.

Commentaries in the Reference Collection

Commentary Sets on the Whole Bible

Commentary Sets on the Old Testament

Commentary Sets on the New Testament

Commentaries in the Main Collection (Check-out-able)

Additional commentaries on individual books of the Bible are available in the Main Collection with call numbers BS 1200 – BS 2970. Search the JBU Library Catalog for the exact location.

Commentaries in the eBook Collections

EBook Commentary availability varies by book of the Bible. Search the eBook collections below with the book of the Bible (e.g., "Genesis") plus the word "Commentary" for additional options.